Leisure Ledger January - April 2018

77 Leisure Ledger January-April 2018 I parks.raleighnc.gov Specialized Recreation and Inclusion Services Specialized Recreation and Inclusion Services 919.996.2147 SRIS@raleighnc.gov Program Director Nikki Speer-Raleigh nikki.speer@raleighnc.gov Program Manager Christen Winstead christen.winstead@raleighnc.gov Program Specialists Olivia Atkinson olivia.atkinson@raleighnc.gov Cassie Jemison cassie.jemison@raleighnc.gov Wendy Miller wendy.miller@raleighnc.gov Jessica Niggebrugge jessica.niggebrugge@raleighnc.gov Meghan Rodriguez meghan.rodriguez@raleighnc.gov Specialized Recreation and Inclusion Services offers a variety of programs for individuals who have developmental and/or physical disabilities, and provides inclusion support for individuals with disabilities who participate in typical programs. Each program is designed to meet the needs and interests of the participants. We offer a variety of programs, including specific programs in the areas of Adapted Aquatics, Social Clubs, Special Olympics sport opportunities, Wheelchair Sports, Track Out programs, programs for individuals with Visual Impairments, etc. Please review our program listings for more information. Some eligibility restrictions may apply. Please note that non-resident fees currently do not apply to our programs. For more information on how to receive program information, please contact us at SRIS@raleighnc.gov or 919.996.2147. Return registrations to: Raleigh Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources Department Specialized Recreation and Inclusion Services 2401 Wade Avenue • Raleigh, NC 27607 Abilities Tennis Age: 8yrs and up. Abilities Tennis of North Carolina is a local nonprofit organization offering free tennis lessons and competitive opportunities for individuals with disabilities. Experienced volunteers will lead the lessons. Equipment is provided and all levels of experience welcome. Pre-registration is required. For more information, please call 919-996-2147 or email SRIS@raleighnc.gov . Millbrook Exchange Tennis Center – Free #216845 Mar 03 Sa 9:30-11:30am Adapted Aquatics Adapted Aquatics swim lessons for individuals with disabilities are available following the inclusion model. Private lessons are also available for individuals wanting one-on-one instruction. For more information, please contact Pullen Aquatic Center at 919-996-6197. Art Time Age: 15yrs and up. Join us to create some unique, one-of-a-kind art on the 4th Monday of the month! Each class will focus on a different theme, and various types of materials will be used. Materials will be provided. An instructor will be available to facilitate and assist participants at a ratio of 1:5. Individuals requiring a higher level of support may attend with a personal assistant. For more information, please call 919-996-2147 or email SRIS@raleighnc.gov . Pullen Community Center – Course Fee: $20 #213351 Jan 22 M 6:30-8:00pm #213352 Feb 26 M 6:30-8:00pm #213353 Mar 26 M 6:30-8:00pm #213354 Apr 23 M 6:30-8:00pm Bingo Night Age: 18yrs and up. Join us the second Wednesday of the month for a fun-filled night of bingo! There will be prizes and time with friends. A program instructor will be available to facilitate and assist all participants. No one-on-one assistance will be provided. Individuals requiring a higher level of support may attend with a personal assistant. Preregistration is required. For more information, please call 919-996-2147 or email SRIS@raleighnc.gov . Chavis Community Center – Course Fee: $8 #213388 Jan 10 W 6:00-8:00pm #213389 Feb 14 W 6:00-8:00pm #213390 Mar 14 W 6:00-8:00pm #213391 Apr 11 W 6:00-8:00pm continued on page 78 —

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy NjM1NA==