Sir Walter Raleigh Awards Set for Sept. 2

News posted Aug. 14, 2014 - 6:00 am
2604 Hillsborough
Fallen Officers Memorial
Artists Backyard

The community is invited to the 2014 Sir Walter Raleigh Awards for Community Appearance. The awards will be presented on Tuesday, Sept. 2 at the Contemporary Art Museum, 409 W. Martin Street.

The Sir Walter Raleigh Awards for Community Appearance are given in recognition of outstanding new contributions to the character and appearance of Raleigh. Since 1983, the City has recognized more than 200 awards to developers, designers, property owners, community and civic groups, churches, and citizens. The ceremony will immediately precede the inaugural Hopscotch Design Fest.

This year’s winners include:

  • Residential – 2604 Hillsborough Street – This award is given for new residential development. The new model of a mixed use student-oriented housing development is located directly across from D.H. Hill Library;
  • Historic Preservation/Rehabilitation – Merrimon-Wynne House, 500 N. Blount Street - This honor is given for preservation or rehabilitation of existing buildings, especially Raleigh's historic resources. The Merrimon-Wynne House was originally built in 1876 on N. Wilmington Street. It was moved in 2008 to its current location, renovated back to its former glory and is now used as a special events venue
  • Landscape Design - Artists' Backyard, North Carolina State University’s campus - Awards in this category are for projects that exemplify an integrated approach to resource conservation, a respect for existing features of the site and/or significantly preserve Raleigh's natural features and trees, including exemplary design of utilitarian site elements transformed into public amenities. Landscape architecture students at North Carolina State University designed and built this project, and transformed a barren patch of ground between Turlington and Owens dorms into a beautiful common area;
  • Public Facilities and Spaces – Raleigh Police Memorial - Winning projects in this category are for local, state and federal projects including office, education and transportation-related facilities and may also be given for projects which enhance the appearance and livability of public areas of the City, including parks, streets, neighborhoods, and churches. The memorial was designed by Thomas Sayre of Clearscapes and features 21 granite columns at the end of a 64-foot water table honoring Raleigh Police officers who have died in the line of duty;
  • Public Service - Person Street Partnership - Awards in this category are given for groups or individuals who have created and implemented projects of any scale that improve the appearance and/or environment of the City. The partnership was created to bring property owners and business owners, stakeholders, residents, and Raleigh City staff together to work in harmony to create a vibrant business community on North Person Street;
  • Public Facilities and Spaces – The City of Raleigh’s Buffaloe Road Aquatic Center - 5908 Buffaloe Road. The center features a three-story waterslide, facilities for water basketball and water volleyball, three 25-yard lap lanes, a zero-depth entry with child-size play area including water tumble buckets, a water curtain, and slide;
  • Innovation – The Wander Box – This is the first year an award will be given for innovation. The Wander Box is a mobile beer garden moving around Raleigh featuring local breweries, bringing life to underused sites and engaging the community in a new way; and,
  • Community Space – Midtown Park – This award is also being given for the first time. Midtown Park is an important new, privately funded, component of the North Hills District. The gathering place features an area suitable for a theatrical presentations, concerts, and community events, and a valuable green space for this dense mixed use development.

For more information, contact

Subscribe to the City's News RSS Feed

Richard Florida’s study named Raleigh

Highest Percentage of Center-City Residents with Bachelor's Degree or Above

View our accolades >>