RCAC Neighborhood Recognition Awards Ceremony Set for Oct. 18

News posted Oct. 11, 2017 - 4:00 pm

The Raleigh Citizens Advisory Council (RCAC) will hand out 2017 RCAC Neighborhood Recognition Awards on Wednesday, Oct. 18, at 6 p.m. at the Five Points Center for Active Adults, 2000 Noble Road.

The City of Raleigh has 19 Citizen Advisory Councils (CACs), each representing a different geographic region of the city. The CACs serve as a link and connecting point between the Raleigh City government and the residents. They provide a way for the City to share information about government activities and to receive feedback from the communities and the citizens.

Officers of the 19 individual Citizens Advisory Councils make up the RCAC. Each year, the individual CACs nominate individuals, groups, non- profits, grassroots organizations and businesses for Neighborhood Recognition Awards.

With its annual Neighborhood Recognition Awards, the RCAC recognizes individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to neighborhoods across Raleigh with its annual Neighborhood Recognition Awards.

Each CAC uses the following criteria for evaluating, reviewing and selecting their honorees:

  • Enhances the visual environment;
  • Preserves the character of the area;
  • Improves buildings, landscaping, or signage;
  • Preserves or enhances the natural environment; or
  • Contributes to community and neighborhood initiatives.

For more information, contact the Community Engagement Division of the City of Raleigh Housing and Neighborhoods Department at 919-996-6100.

For more information, contact

  • Sheila Lynch, Housing and Neighborhoods Department, 919-996-6100
Subscribe to the City's News RSS Feed

Forbes named Raleigh

Second "America's Fastest Growing Cities"

View our accolades >>